The Joy of Text

Hello. My name is Meg and I’m a bookaholic.

Yes – it’s true. And I’ve said it before. But I make no apology for saying it again. I just love books. I love reading ‘em, I love to have ‘em piled up in every room. And now I’m writing ‘em too and there’s no hope for me.

Thankfully!

It’s been a seriously good week for me on the bookaholic front. It was World Book Night last week and I was chosen as a “giver” for the third time. So if you were in Chepstow Town centre and a be-hatted woman on a purple buggy drove up and gave you a book – that was me. It was a good morning to smile at a stranger. And I hope you’re enjoying the book, too.

Last night (Tuesday) was a Local Authors’ Event at Chepstow Library. There were meant to be three of us, but Sue had to cancel rather than risk infecting the rest of us with her bug. So – much scrambling around to get ready and try to fill the gap, although I did my best by reading an extract from her book. I had to suggest the audience pretend I was about half my weight and five months pregnant – they didn’t seem to mind. Hopefully Sue’ll be better soon!

The event went really well, with Paul and I reading excerpts from our books and answering questions about writing, agents and other outlandish subjects. We had a mini-writing competition during the break (just in case anyone thought we were doing all the work) and awarded a prize after we’d all been tempted with the refreshments laid on by the Library. (Yummy cake bites.) All in all, a very successful evening.

So what’s next on the book front? Well, I’m running writing workshops, chatting and signing at a couple of Steampunk events in the next few weeks. And we’ve got a drop-in event at Chepstow Library as part of Adult Learners’ Week. Links below.

Meanwhile I’m working on a short story about Chrystal, involving an Ambassador and a séance. 😉

Steampunk at The Labyrinth, Looe: Saturday 11/05/13, 12noon onwards. I’ll be on twice.

Steamcheese Event at Frome: Saturday 18/05/13, from 10am. I’ll be in the Authors’ Area.

Chepstow Library: (Drop-in on Saturday 25/05/13, any time between 09:30 ~ 12:30)

One Response

  1. Links aren’t posting properly again. Here’s how the last part should have appeared:

    Steampunk at The Labyrinth, Looe: Saturday 11/05/13, 12noon onwards. I’ll be on twice.
    http://www.ladysteampunk.co.uk/

    Steamcheese Event at Frome: Saturday 18/05/13, from 10am. I’ll be in the Authors’ Area.
    http://steamcheese.eventbrite.com/

    Chepstow Library: (Drop-in on Saturday 25/05/13, any time between 09:30 ~ 12:30)
    http://libraries.monmouthshire.gov.uk/index.php?lang=EN&navId=10

Leave a comment