Novel Noticeably Nearer

Busy times!

Goody Bag 130219

I’m finalising the text for my book, ready to send to the printers. The book cover is ready and I’m pleased with how that’s looking. The press release is being circulated to various media outlets and it’s all getting very real! Pre-orders are trickling in and I’ve just been told our local libraries are ordering copies (they handle orders centrally, so I get a single request for all the branches). I’m involved in running several events at the local library over the next few months, and I’ll be able to sell books at some of these. Not that I ever do a “hard sell” – I’m a writer, not a salesperson!

In fact, if I had to make a living from my books, I’d go hungry an awful lot of the time. But that’s a story for another day!

I’ve converted the text file into the appropriate page size for the first time today, so I can now say it’ll be 320 pages long. Give or take a few, ‘cos there’s all the extra stuff that goes at the front and tweaks to the formatting can change the count by a couple of pages. It’s about 92,000 words long, if anyone’s interested.

So, what’s happening with these promo goodies?

Well, the picture shows the current contents of the full goody bag. People who crowdfunded me for £50 or more last Autumn will get one of these bags with all the contents displayed, as well as paperback and electronic copies of the book. And one or two other little bonuses that are in the process of being produced. Some of the goodies will also be given away to anyone who buys a paperback copy of Chrystal Heart at one of my promo events this year. There are four events arranged so far, more to be added as I finalise details. The latest details will always be on my Amazon UK Author Page (look up one of my books and click on my name, or go direct to http://www.amazon.co.uk/-/e/B0034PC6DM ). And anyone who’s pre-ordered a paperback copy will get something extra in the parcel when it arrives.

Told you I’d go hungry if I depended on my book sales for an income.

Chrystal Heart will also be available for Kindle. Details to follow when I’ve done the necessary formatting and uploaded it to Amazon.

Tomorrow is Chrystal’s birthday. She’ll be 189. That’s a lot of candles!

Leave a Reply

