Making Money and Promotional Freebies

I have the impression that the school system in the UK (and probably elsewhere) teaches pupils that they can make a living from writing fiction. Then they try to do it and find out it isn’t that easy. For every J.K. Rowling, there are hundreds of writers who have a day job for the steady income they need to pay the monthly bills.

And at my rung of the ladder, writing is little more than a hobby that pays for itself.

I’ve been doing the sums for the costs associated with my book launch in March. I not only have to pay for the books themselves, I’m also committed to providing goody bags for my major donors and those are the costs I was checking. I’m pleased to say I’ve stuck within my budget and I won’t be begging on an internet street corner to make up a shortfall!

In fact, as well as the goodies promised to people who funded me, I have a few extras of some items. And this is your chance to win a few of these. I’ve put together some packs, each consisting of two pencils, two ballpoint pens, an eraser, a pencil sharpener and a set of three bookmarks.

Comment on this post to be in the draw for a pack, like and share on Facebook (http://www.facebook.com/MegKingstonAuthor ) to be in with another chance.

Names will be drawn on Wednesday 13/02/13 and Chrystal’s birthday, which is Wednesday 20/02/13. Winners will be announced on this blog and the Facebook page.

Good luck, everyone. 

One Response

  1. Oh my gosh, don’t I know it! I’m still paying for last year’s book launch. I took a completely different route to you and chose instead to sell tickets. It worked… In theory. Thank goodness for savings!! This year’s is a much more scaled event. Better go and talk to the bank manager!

    Thanks for the awesome blog, and everything you do. 🙂 Always love reading from you. 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

